Dhaka, Sunday

25 July 2021

Business Insider Bangladesh

Bangladesh secure final round spot of Asian Cup Qualifiers

BI Report || BusinessInsider

Published: 19:16, 16 June 2021  
Bangladesh secure final round spot of Asian Cup Qualifiers

Photo: Collected

Bangladesh have been moved to the final round as the last team of the Asian Cup Qualifiers, Asian Football Confederation confirmed it on Wednesday.

Bangladesh who finished at the bottom with two points of Group E were drubbed by Oman by 0-3 in their last match on Tuesday of Asian Qualifiers for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 and AFC Asian Cup China 2023.

With the system changing Asian Football Confederation (AFC) during the pandemic, Bangladesh fortunately found a berth in the final round of Asian Cup Qualifiers.

According to the previous format of the AFC, Bangladesh had to play a play-off to book a place in the final round as the bottom four teams out of the eight teams and eight fifth-position teams across the eight groups; a total of 12 team play-offs were held.

Four teams will compete in a play-off to secure the two remaining slots for the 24-team tournament.

“Following the conclusion of the Preliminary Joint Qualifiers Round 2, 13 participating teams, including AFC Asian Cup 2023 host China PR and FIFA World Cup 2022 host and reigning Asian champions Qatar have sealed their places for the Continental showpiece, which is scheduled to take place from June 16 to July 16, 2023,” AFC statement on Wednesday said.

“Three of the lowest ranked second-placed teams, all eight third and fourth-placed teams across Groups A to H, as well as three best fifth-place teams — 22 teams in total — have qualified for the 24-team AFC Asian Cup China 2023 Qualifiers Final Round,” the statement added.

The other 21 countries who also moved to the final round with Bangladesh in the Asian Cup qualifiers are: Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Kuwait, Philippines, Jordan, Bahrain, Palestine, India, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Turkmenistan, Maldives, Nepal, Hong Kong, Singapore, Afghanistan, Mongolia, Sri Lanka, Myanmar and Yemen.