Dhaka, Sunday

25 July 2021

Business Insider Bangladesh

Big names pull out as Australia names squads for Bangladesh tour

BI Report || BusinessInsider

Published: 15:34, 16 June 2021  
Big names pull out as Australia names squads for Bangladesh tour

Seven top Australian players have been skipped the Windies and Bangladesh tour

Pat Cummins, David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell are among the superstars to opt-out citing quarantine fears or personal reasons as Australia has announced on Wednesday an 18 men final squad for the upcoming West Indies and Bangladesh white-ball tours.

Seven top Australian players -- Pat Cummins, David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Kane Richardson and Jhye Richardson – have been skipped the Windies and Bangladesh tour, Cricket Australia (CA) confirmed on Wednesday.

Australia best batsman Smith skipped due to an elbow injury while the six others opted out from the tours for different reasons, according to Cricket Australia.

"We are naturally disappointed not to have all players available for the Australian team at this time however the NSP (National Selection Panel) respects the decisions of those who have opted out of this tour," Australia chief selector Trevor Hohns said in a statement.

"Steve Smith was unavailable for selection due to an elbow injury and will now be able to use this time to fully recover ahead of the World Cup and home Ashes series. Steve was disappointed to miss the tour with the decision made on medical grounds." He added.

Earlier, the Australian players, who played in suspended IPL, had to follow mandatory 14 days quarantining in the Maldives before spending another seven days in quarantine in Sydney upon arrival from India.

Australia’s upcoming white-ball tour of the West Indies and Bangladesh as part of the ICC T20 World Cup preparation.

Australia is scheduled to play 5 T20s and 3 ODIs in West Indies before they will travel to Bangladesh to play the five-match T20 series.

The venues for the Bangladesh T20 series, which is scheduled to take place in August, are yet to be confirmed.

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa. Travelling reserves: Nathan Ellils, Tanveer Sangha.