Dhaka, Wednesday

29 May 2024

Business Insider Bangladesh

Shakib returns for 2nd Test against Sri Lanka

BI Desk || BusinessInsider

Published: 00:37, 27 March 2024   Update: 00:38, 27 March 2024
Shakib returns for 2nd Test against Sri Lanka

Photo: Collected

Ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has made a comeback to the longer version format after a gap of one year as Bangladesh announced the squad for the second and final Test against Sri Lanka, which gets underway in Chattogram on March 30.

Shakib has been out of the national team since the match against Sri Lanka in the World Cup in India last year where he smashed 82 and took two wickets for a match winning performance but he fractured his left index finger, which ruled him out of the side's last match against Australia in the showcase event, reports BSS.

Shakib's eye problem also emerged in the World Cup event and he was forced to miss Bangladesh series against New Zealand at home and away.

He was then left out of the T20 and ODI squad and also the squad of the first Test of Bangladesh for Sri Lanka series as his eye was not deemed okay. However, according to the team management, he is now okay with his eye and played some Dhaka Premier League matches without any trouble.

The star all-rounder last played a Test in April 2023 when Bangladesh met Ireland in Mirpur. Batter Towhid Hridoy, who was drafted in the 15-member squad for the first Test, misses out due to the inclusion of Shakib.

Also out is pacer Mushfik Hasan who has picked up an injury on his left ankle which will require rehab. His replacement is fellow right-arm paceman Hasan Mahmud who has played 39 matches for Bangladesh in white ball cricket but is yet to feature in a Test. Mahmud has taken 49 wickets from 16 first-class outings.

Sri Lanka lead the series 1-0 after winning the first Test in Sylhet by 328 runs. The Test series is part of the 2023-25 ICC World Test Championship cycle.

Bangladesh squad for 2nd Test: Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Zakir Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Shadman Islam, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Nahid Rana, Hasan Mahmud.