Dhaka, Monday

15 July 2024

Business Insider Bangladesh

Bangladesh opts to bowl first in WC game against England

BI Desk || BusinessInsider

Published: 12:20, 10 October 2023  
Bangladesh opts to bowl first in WC game against England

Photo: Collected

Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan opted to bowl first after winning the toss against England in their second game of the World Cup today at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala.

Bangladesh bolstered its spin strength, brining in Mahedi Hasan for Mahmudullah Riyad for its only change from the previous game against Afghanistan which they won by six wickets, reports BSS.

"We will field first. Little cooler than the other day and hopefully we our pacers can get something out of the surface. We have one change," Shakib said, explaining his decision to bowl first.

"The way we fielded, we didn't get the start we wanted but the way we believed was a pleasing side. We want to do the same thing but it is a different game and different mindset, but we want to be as calm as possible."

England captain Jos Buttler looked not happy to loss the toss as he also wanted to bowl first in this wicket, which is believed to help the pacer after the overnight rain.

"We would have fielded first as well," Buttler said. "We have had a couple of days good practice and we look forward to put in a good performance. That is due to the quality of the team and we are expecting a good bounce back today. We have to be a little bit smart but as much as you can block it out and focus on performing your skill (referring to the outfield)."

England suffered a thumping nine-wicket defeat to New Zealand in its first match. From that game, they made one change with left-arm pacer Reece Topley replacing spin allrounder Moeen Ali.

Line Ups:

Bangladesh: Tanzid Hasan, Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Towhid Hridoy, Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

England: Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Jos Buttler(w/c), Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, Reece Topley