Dhaka, Monday

15 July 2024

Business Insider Bangladesh

Tigers decide to bowl first against Sri Lanka

BI Report || BusinessInsider

Published: 17:39, 9 September 2023   Update: 17:48, 9 September 2023
Tigers decide to bowl first against Sri Lanka

Photo: Collected

Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan won the toss again but this time decided to bowl first against Sri Lanka in a crucial Asia Cup Super Four game at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

BSS adds: The game turned out to be a 'do or die' match for Bangladesh following their seven-wicket defeat to Pakistan in the Super Four opening game.

In this 'must win' game, Bangladesh made one change with left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed replacing Afif Hossain.

"We will field first, no particular reason, there could be some rain around. We have one extra bowler and we will bowl first," Shakib said, explaining his decision to bowl first.

"A must-win situation, but playing against Sri Lanka in Sri Lanka isn't easy. There is no room for complacency, it's a bit different to Pakistan and we'll have to adjust."

Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka however was happy to get the opportunity to bat first in their first match in Super Four.

"We would have batted first, it'll seam and spin a bit under lights. The rules in ODIs mean it's difficult to defend totals, but we do have class bowlers like Pathiran and Theekshana, that helped us fight back against Afghanistan," Shanaka said.

"The talk is about trusting yourselves and following the process. The guys have been delivering and that's key to being a good side."

Sri Lanka however fielded an unchanged side which won the last match against Afghanistan by only two runs.

Line Ups:

Bangladesh: Naim Sheikh, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Shamim Patwari, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed.

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis(w), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka(c), Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana.