Dhaka, Sunday

25 February 2024

Business Insider Bangladesh

Bangladesh opts to bat first in Super 4 clash against Pakistan

BI Report || BusinessInsider

Published: 16:53, 6 September 2023   Update: 16:54, 6 September 2023
Bangladesh opts to bat first in Super 4 clash against Pakistan

Photo: Collected

Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan decided to bat first after winning an important toss against Pakistan in their first match in the Asia Cup Super Four phase today at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Batting first in benign pitch in Lahore is always an advantage, which is why Shakib didn't have second thought after winning the toss, reports BSS.

"Obviously bat first, no particular reason other than the heat. If we can put runs on the board, we can put pressure on Pakistan," Shakib said after the toss.

"Similar to the match we played against Afghanistan, we want to replicate that. We have to be at our best. We aren't worried about what the opposition can do to us. We know their strengths and weakness."

Bangladesh made just one change as expectedly with Liton Das replacing in from Najmul Hossain Shanto who returned to the country after being ruled out with hamstring injury. Shanto scored 89 and 104 in two matches of Bangladesh in the group phase.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam also made it clear he would have batted first if he won the toss. But he is confident that his bowlers can make inroads early to put pressure on Bangladesh.

"We would have batted as well. There's a bit of grass and we'll try to use that. We are looking very well in the pace department. We are used to his heat as we've played a lot of cricket," he said.

Babar is also one century from equalling Anwar's century record.

"I am looking forward to this match, I'll try to break the record but I'm looking to win this match. Last night we saw a bit of help for fast bowlers, that's why we have an extra fast bowler."

Pakistan also made one change with fast bowling Fahim Ashrafe replacing spinner Mohammad Nawaz.

Line Ups:

Bangladesh: Naim Sheikh, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Liton Das, Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam(c), Mohammad Rizwan(w), Agha Salman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf