United Commercial Bank (UCB)

Dhaka, Sunday

05 February 2023

Business Insider Bangladesh

Tigers eye clinching ODI series against India

Mirza Galib Hasan || BusinessInsider

Published: 13:34, 6 December 2022  
Tigers eye clinching ODI series against India

Photo: File

After a thrilling one-wicket victory over India in the first match of the three-match ODI series, Bangladesh will try to secure the series in the second match which is scheduled to start at 12pm on Wednesday at Dhaka’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

The hosts will be on the happier side as Bangladesh won their only ODI series against the mighty neighbour in 2015 by securing the three-match series 2-1 at home. 

However, if we look at the statistics, the men in blue have the upper hand as the two teams played 37 matches so far and India were victorious on 30 occasions while Bangladesh won just six matches. One match fetched no result.

One more thing is, after securing the 2015 bilateral series, the Tigers lost five straight ODI matches to India. However, it is also true that they created chances to beat the two-time world champions in all five matches. While sometimes luck did not favour them and sometimes their sloppy fielding or blunders in batting cost them the matches.

“We are pleased to have gotten off to a good start in this series," Bangladesh seamer Ebadot Hossain told the media on Monday. "However, we cannot forget that the series is not over yet. We still have more matches to play and everyone is determined to do their best and achieve a favourable result.”

Earlier in the first match, the Tiger bowled brilliantly against India but they could not bat well. However, Mehidy Hasan Miraz’s unbeaten 38 runs helped Bangladesh win the match.

The hosts were 136 for nine and needed 51 runs to win the match. They brilliantly came from behind as Miraz and Mustafizur Rahman made an unbeaten partnership of 51 runs and snatched the victory away from India.

Bangladesh: Liton Das (Captain), Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmudullah, Najmul Hossain Shanto and Nurul Hasan Sohan

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar and Yash Dayal.