World-Cup Football 2022
United Commercial Bank (UCB)

Dhaka, Tuesday

29 November 2022

Business Insider Bangladesh

Bangladesh announces ODI squad for India series

UNB || BusinessInsider

Published: 19:48, 24 November 2022  
Bangladesh announces ODI squad for India series

File photo

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Thursday announced the 16-member squad for the three-match ODI series against India starting on December 4 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Tamim Iqbal will lead the team in this series as the regular ODI captain. He was out of the national team for a long time as the team was busy playing Asia Cup and T20 World Cup.

Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim are all set to return to the national team with this series. They were also out of the Bangladesh setup when the World Cup took place in Australia. While Mahmudullah was overlooked by the selectors, Mushfiqur retired from the T20 format.

Anamul Haque Bijoy is also in the ODI team. He hit two fifties in his last three ODIs against Zimbabwe. He was also part of the T20 team in Zimbabwe series, but he was axed from the World Cup squad.

Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam and Shoriful Islam were overlooked for this series. They were part of Bangladesh team in the last ODI series against Zimbabwe.

To replace them, Bangladesh included Shakib Al Hasan, who was out of the Zimbabwe series due to personal reasons, Yasir Ali and Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury.

While the first match of the series is on December 4, the second match is on December 7, and the last match will be played on December 10. First two matches will take place in Dhaka, the last match will be hosted in Chattogram’s Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.

After the ODI series, Bangladesh will take on India in a two-match Test series with the first Test being played in Chattogram and second in Dhaka.

Bangladesh ODI squad:

Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Liton Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmudullah Riyad, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Nurul Hasan Sohan