Dhaka, Sunday

10 December 2023

Business Insider Bangladesh

Bangladesh clean sweep UAE

BI Report || BusinessInsider

Published: 23:31, 27 September 2022   Update: 17:00, 28 September 2022
Bangladesh clean sweep UAE

Mehidy Hasan Miraz. Photo: File

Bangladesh whitewashed United Arab Emirates (UAE) by 2-0 as they won the second T20I by 32 runs at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

After asking to bat first, the Tigers posted 169 runs after losing five wickets while UAE managed to collect 137 runs after losing five batters.

It was a shaky start for UAE as they lost their first four batters inside seven overs. However, UAE skipper Chundangapoyil Rizwan and Basil Hameed tried to turn things around and made a partnership of 90 off 72 deliveries but that was not enough to avoid the whitewash.

Rizwan smashed a half-century and remained unbeaten for 51 runs while Hameed walked off after scoring 42 off 40 balls.

On the other hand, it was a flying start for Bangladesh with the bat as they collected 48 runs from the power play and lost Sabbir Rahman’s wicket who went for a duck in the previous match. This time he walked back after scoring 12 off nine deliveries.

Post that, Litton Das came into the middle but could not do that much harm as he was dismissed for 25 runs. He cut straight to backward point. Litton went through despite having no room and found the fielder to perfection.

Later, Afif Hossain who hit a half-century in the first match of the series followed the footsteps of Litton and walked back to the pavilion after scoring 18 off 10.

Afterwards, Mehidy Hasan Miraz who opened the innings for Bangladesh was dismissed. Miraz made 46 after facing 37 balls with the help of five boundaries.

This ball pitched almost a half foot outside the leg stump. Miraz slogged but missed and the ball hit on the pad. It would have hit the stumps alright but that never looked out because of where it pitched.

Mosaddek Hossain later threw his wicket away after scoring 27 off 22 deliveries. Mosaddek tried for a big hit but mistimed and holed out in the long-on.

Afzal Khan picked up two wickets while Sabir Ali, Aryan Lakra and Karthik Meiyappan claimed one each.