United Commercial Bank (UCB)

Dhaka, Thursday

18 August 2022

Business Insider Bangladesh

Can Tigers maintain their supremacy in ODIs?

Mirza Galib Hasan || BusinessInsider

Published: 16:56, 4 August 2022   Update: 17:20, 4 August 2022
Can Tigers maintain their supremacy in ODIs?

Photo: File

Bangladesh and Zimbabwe will lock their horns in the three-match ODI series and the first match is scheduled to start on Friday at Harare Sports Club. The lack of power-hitting ability of the Tiger players was visible in the T20 series which they lost to the same opponent by 1-2.

Bangladesh are still struggling to find their rhythm in the shortest format of the game. However, people see a different  Bangladesh in the 50-over format. They whitewashed West Indies in the last month. Before that, they also won the ODI series against South Africa. 

Therefore, the Tigers are considered one of the strongest teams in this format right now. Since the 2019 World Cup, Bangladesh played nine bilateral series and won seven of them.

Sri Lanka and New Zealand won the two other series respectively in 2019 and 2021 and after that defeat against the Kiwis, Bangladesh emerged victorious in five back-to-back series against Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, South Africa and West Indies.

Back in 2013, the African nations bagged the ODI series by 2-1 and after that, the Tigers did not lose any series (ODI) against them.

The two sides faced each other 78 times. Bangladesh won 50 while Zimbabwe won 28 matches.

Meanwhile, the hosts are in good mode after winning the T20 series. There is no doubt that Bangladesh are comparatively the stronger side but anything can happen in this ODI series.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal (c), Litton Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Taijul Islam.

Zimbabwe: Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva (wk), Tanaka Chivanga, Craig Ervine (c), Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Tony Munyonga, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Sean Williams.