Dhaka, Thursday

09 December 2021

Business Insider Bangladesh
Rangdhonu Group

Chennai beats Kolkata to clinch 4th IPL title

BI Report || BusinessInsider

Published: 02:03, 16 October 2021   Update: 20:57, 16 October 2021
Chennai beats Kolkata to clinch 4th IPL title

Chennai Super Kings won their fourth Indian Premier League title. Photo: Collected


Ageing maestro Mahendra Singh Dhoni's Chennai Super Kings won their fourth Indian Premier League title, beating two-time champion Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in the final on Friday.

Chennai, playing its ninth IPL final, made an imposing 192-3 after being put into bat by Kolkata skipper Eoin Morgan.

Kolkata, which had chased down 199 in the 2012 final against Chennai, crumbled to 125-8 before tailenders Shivam Mavi (20) and Lockie Ferguson (17 not out) dragged them to 165-9.

Openers Shubman Gill (51) and Venkatesh Iyer (50) put on a solid 91-run stand, then Kolkata lost its way completely, losing eight wickets for just 34 runs in a dramatic collapse.

Fast bowler Shardul Thakur, who has replaced Axar Patel in India's Twenty20 World Cup squad, picked up 3-38 while Josh Hazzlewood (2-29) and Ravindra Jadeja (2-37) ran through Kolkata's middle order.

All four top-order Chennai batsmen were amongst the runs, led by Faf du Plessis' 86 off 59 balls. But the South African had a lucky escape on 2 when Dinesh Karthik missed a regulation stumping.

Ferguson (0-56) had an off day and conceded the second most runs by a bowler in an IPL final.

The three cameos by Moeen Ali (37 not out), tournament top-scorer Ruturaj Gaikwad (32) and Robin Uthappa (31) helped Chennai to set a formidable total.

Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bowl first against Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2021 Final in Dubai on Friday.

Bangladesh’s ace allrounder Sakib Al Hasan is in the KKR team as both sides are playing an unchanged side.



Venkatesh Iyer, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan (capt.), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy, and Lockie Ferguson


Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (capt. & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood