Dhaka, Tuesday

28 September 2021

Business Insider Bangladesh

PM unveils 5 power plants having capacity of 779MW

BI Report || BusinessInsider

Published: 11:53, 12 September 2021   Update: 13:59, 12 September 2021
PM unveils 5 power plants having capacity of 779MW

Representational photo/Collected

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday inaugurated a total of five power plants with a total capacity of 779MW through a video-conference from her official Ganobhaban residence.

The power plants include, Bibiana 3,400 MW combined cycle plant at Julda of Habiganj, Chittagong 100 MW Power Plant Unit II, Meghnaghat 104 MW Power Plant at Narayanganj, Modhumoti 100 MW Power Plant at Bagerhat and Sylhet 150 MW combined cycle Power Plant (upgradation from 150MW to combined cycle), respectively.  

State Minister for Ministry of Power, Energy and Mineral Resources, Nasrul Hamid, Power and Energy Advisor to the PM, Dr. Tawfique-e-Elahi Chowdhury, senior dignitaries and government officials were present at the Bijoy Hall of the Biddut Bhaban while Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister, Ahmad Kaikaus was present at Ganobhaban, simultaneously.

Currently, Bangladesh has a capacity to produce 25,235MW electricity as against 4,942MW in 2009.

Monetary Policy Stance
Budget 2020-21